Advertisement



Go Back   Zune Boards > General Discussions > Technology

New Member?



 
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Technology Tech. Talk

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2008, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
ad majorem dei gloriam
Administrator
Ultimate Zuner
 
Deiparous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,605
Reputation: 474
Send a message via AIM to Deiparous Send a message via MSN to Deiparous Send a message via Yahoo to Deiparous Send a message via Skype™ to Deiparous
Awards Showcase
Most Flamboyant Personality 
Total Awards: 1
Default Interesting Spam


Now, I checked my email a bit ago and found an interesting email:
Quote:
Hello,
My name is Brandie and I am with Kirk LTD. The owner Kirk would like to get a website going and you were referred to him by Gloria Canton. We would like to have KirkLTD as the domain name. I am not sure what all information that you need for us but if you could let me know I will get everything together for you.
You can reply to this email or call 619-440-5475.
Thank you.
First thing I thought was Spam, before even reading the message since I don't know any kirkmullan@att.net and the subject was blank.


After reading it, I got a bit confused. How would their scam work? They send the random email around and hope a web designer gets it and for some reason sends them money?


Well, it does have the typical signs of spam, such as the random people I don't know and the fact that I am not a professional web designer...


So I did some searching, tried to find anything about this scam and didn't find anything, nor did I find anything about any Kirk Mullan or Gloria Canton. However when I went to KirkLTD.com I discovered that it was one of those random ad sites... hmm...


My current theory is that Brandie owns the domain and is going to try and trick me into buying it.


I'm trying to decide how much fun to have, any opinions?

edit: I'm gonna post updates throughout the thread



__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
is awesome



Deiparous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
'Keep Moving Forward...'
GFX Crew
Section Staff
Expert Zuner
 
stkr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 2,942
Reputation: 545
Awards Showcase
Best Signature 
Total Awards: 1
Default

I've seen worse, but I would consider it spam if I received it as well. I remember an email saying that I was supposed to inherit a couple million dollars from a deceased uncle that I'd never heard of. Yours is more believable, though.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




stkr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Support Team
Moderator
Ultimate Zuner
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: What a stalker!
Posts: 6,441
Reputation: 265
Default

Probably trick you into buying it from some scam site.

Maybe try calling, but be sure to use *67 to block your caller ID. Or, get the sender's IP address.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Do you live outside of the US, have Paypal, and want the Zune Pass? If so PM or visit my
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.




Gregory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Windows 7 Tech
Support Team
GFX Crew
Section Staff
Elite Zuner
 
Cloud Strife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,374
Reputation: 560
Awards Showcase
Taylor's Bitch 
Total Awards: 1
Default

I got some emails asking me for a conference meeting of some sort, and to bring money, and when I checked where it came from, it said "India"

I just hate scams.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Cloud Strife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 04:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Jr. Zuner
 
Archimedes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: limbo
Posts: 32
Reputation: 10
Default

ha tat persn is a idiot unlike i is why would someone do that anyways its just freakin useless anless you do make money (im not saying saying that scammers aren't bad but it just makes no sense)




Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
ad majorem dei gloriam
Administrator
Ultimate Zuner
 
Deiparous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6,605
Reputation: 474
Send a message via AIM to Deiparous Send a message via MSN to Deiparous Send a message via Yahoo to Deiparous Send a message via Skype™ to Deiparous
Awards Showcase
Most Flamboyant Personality 
Total Awards: 1
Default

OK, I decided on how to reply:

Quote:
Hi Brandie,

First off I need to know a little about Kirk LTD, what is it you do and what are you looking for in the website? The domain name might be a little bit of an effort. For one, KirkLTD.com is already owned and secondly, that name isn't all that user friendly.

Also, I don't seem to remember a Gloria Canton. How did she say she knows me?

Thanks.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
is awesome



Deiparous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 05:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Zuner
 
MemphisMasenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,515
Reputation: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by God View Post
OK, I decided on how to reply:

All that was uneccessary all you just had to say was:

Quote:
Hi Brandie,

I don't want to deal with your ****
Kill yourself

Thank You.

-(your real name here).
__________________
Whatever I post, if it pisses you off, I don't care anymore.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Quote:
Do you have a PS3? Then buy it now....Oh you dont have a PS3? Buy it anyways...then buy a PS3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




MemphisMasenko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 12:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Senior Zuner
 
jackluo923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greater Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,275
Reputation: 122
Send a message via MSN to jackluo923
Default

I have seen a fake facebook spam before. LOL


So and so made an offensive comment on your facebook

please visit this site blah blahblah to hack their account


or something like that.

LOL
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




jackluo923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:49 PM.

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0 RC8
vB Ad Management by =RedTyger=
(C) ZuneBoards 2006-2007
Copyright © 2006 - 2008 Zune Boards | About Zune Boards | Legal | A member of the Crowdgather Forum Community