Go Back   Zune Boards > Zune Discussions > Zune Help > Gen 1/Gen 2

Gen 1/Gen 2 For help with every zune except the Zune HD. Zune 4, 8, 16, 30, 80, 120 issues go here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2011, 01:16 PM   #1
Mattetch
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Mattetch is on a distinguished road
Default (Solved)I have no idea how to fix this problem

I just recently purchased a used but not abused zune 30gb in brown from eBay, it's in wonderful shape but has a tiny issue.

It refuses to update the firmware and gives me an error code: c00124d.

I have used the search button on the forum to find a solution, and although I followed the primary instructions it still won't work.



Mattetch is offline  

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 08-11-2011, 01:37 PM   #2
Seb
Boobies! Boobies! Boobies! Boobies! Boobies! Boobies!
So mainstream, I'm a standard
Retired Staff
Ultimate Zuner
 
Seb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 5,736
Seb has a brilliant futureSeb has a brilliant futureSeb has a brilliant futureSeb has a brilliant futureSeb has a brilliant futureSeb has a brilliant futureSeb has a brilliant futureSeb has a brilliant futureSeb has a brilliant futureSeb has a brilliant future
Send a message via MSN to Seb Send a message via Skype™ to Seb
Default

You could try the button combination to delete everything, including the firmware by pressing center, left and the back buttons and then install the latest firmware from there.
Unless you already did that..By the way, what firmware was it on?



Seb is offline  

Old 08-11-2011, 01:47 PM   #3
NSILMike
Support Team
Super Zuner
 
NSILMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,580
NSILMike is just really niceNSILMike is just really niceNSILMike is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattetch View Post
I just recently purchased a used but not abused zune 30gb in brown from eBay, it's in wonderful shape but has a tiny issue.

It refuses to update the firmware and gives me an error code: c00124d.

I have used the search button on the forum to find a solution, and although I followed the primary instructions it still won't work.
If you've tried to reinstall the firmware, it's a hardware defect...





NSILMike is offline  

Old 08-11-2011, 10:07 PM   #4
Mattetch
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Mattetch is on a distinguished road
Default

I believe it last worked on 2.5 but failed on the 3.3 update.

Is there any way to do a traditional format like hdds? I or any tools to get this going again?

I'm totally new to zunes, is there any hope for my poor little device?

Last edited by Mattetch; 08-11-2011 at 03:41 PM. Reason: typo



Mattetch is offline  

Old 08-14-2011, 02:52 PM   #5
NSILMike
Support Team
Super Zuner
 
NSILMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,580
NSILMike is just really niceNSILMike is just really niceNSILMike is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattetch View Post
I believe it last worked on 2.5 but failed on the 3.3 update.

Is there any way to do a traditional format like hdds? I or any tools to get this going again?

I'm totally new to zunes, is there any hope for my poor little device?
There are only two things you can do...
1) fiddle with settings, and
2) reinstall the software and/or firmware.
If you've done #2 without results... it's defective hardware...





NSILMike is offline  

Old 08-18-2011, 12:23 AM   #6
coolwolf455
Zewbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
coolwolf455 is on a distinguished road
Default

I just found the solution. I have a 30gb and the answer is to go into settings on the computer software and erase entire disk. I have not tried the key code that does this. But I am sure it will work as well. then re-sync your media and it should work perfectly. the issue is a communication issue



coolwolf455 is offline  

Old 08-18-2011, 04:56 PM   #7
NSILMike
Support Team
Super Zuner
 
NSILMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,580
NSILMike is just really niceNSILMike is just really niceNSILMike is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coolwolf455 View Post
I just found the solution. I have a 30gb and the answer is to go into settings on the computer software and erase entire disk. I have not tried the key code that does this. But I am sure it will work as well. then re-sync your media and it should work perfectly. the issue is a communication issue
that makes no sense. that erases content only... which would not be the root cause of a communication issue. if this worked for you, you had some different issue relating to corrupt content files.





NSILMike is offline  

Old 08-21-2011, 01:48 AM   #8
Rainbow Dash
Banned
Zune Lord
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 5,132
Rainbow Dash is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Solved and closed.



Rainbow Dash is offline  

Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts