Go Back   Zune Boards > Zune Discussions > Zune Help > General Zune Software

General Zune Software Ask for help regarding the Zune software. Zune Marketplace and Zune Pass issues also go here.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2010, 04:32 AM   #1
GraysonPeddie
Zewbie
 
GraysonPeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando, FL 32825-3166
Posts: 5
GraysonPeddie is on a distinguished road
Default Missing tracks in a couple of albums

Hi. I am unable to figure it out how to add tracks to my albums in Zune 4 software that are missing.

For example, in "O, Yeah! Ultimate Aerosmith Hits," tracks 2 and 4 are missing. For Mail on Sunday, by Flo Rida, tracks 5, 6, 7, 9, and 14 are missing. In All Time Greatest Hits, by Steppenwolf, tracks 7 to 9 are missing.

My library is located in E:\Music - Zune.




Here are the other images where tracks are missing.

Are there any resolutions to my problem that I'm having?

--Grayson Peddie

PS: I've been looking all over the Internet, but I can't find what I'm looking for.



GraysonPeddie is offline  

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 04-17-2010, 03:41 PM   #2
Grimm312
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 254
Grimm312 is on a distinguished road
Default

Stick the tracks into your library (if you have them, otherwise you're gonna need them), and change the metadata so it displays in the right album.




Grimm312 is offline  

Old 04-17-2010, 04:07 PM   #3
GraysonPeddie
Zewbie
 
GraysonPeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando, FL 32825-3166
Posts: 5
GraysonPeddie is on a distinguished road
Default

I did have all my tracks inside my E:\"Music - Zune" folder, but it's not doing it. Zune 4 ignored my request to add the songs to the library when I drag and drop.

I'm able to listen to tracks 7, 8, and 9 (All Time Greatest Hits by Steppenwolf) just fine when I use Windows Explorer (Zune 4 plays the files okay, but it does not get added to the library).

Last edited by GraysonPeddie; 04-17-2010 at 04:10 PM.



GraysonPeddie is offline  

Old 04-18-2010, 03:48 AM   #4
Grimm312
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 254
Grimm312 is on a distinguished road
Default

Where did you get the music from?

If they're from a cd re-rip them and see what happens

I suspect somethings gone awry with the format perhaps.

If you've downloaded them, run them through a converter and see if that helps.

Last edited by Grimm312; 04-18-2010 at 03:50 AM.




Grimm312 is offline  

Old 04-18-2010, 09:54 AM   #5
GraysonPeddie
Zewbie
 
GraysonPeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando, FL 32825-3166
Posts: 5
GraysonPeddie is on a distinguished road
Default

I've ripped all the tracks about a couple of years ago. They're all in WMA format.

I went from WMA Lossless (that I primarily ripped using the format), then about a year ago, I want to have those files in FLAC, so I used Foobar2000 to do that (and downloaded a FLAC codec with support for tagging for Windows Media Player and Windows Media Center). Then I deleted the WMA files to keep my hard drive clean. Because I wanted to stick with the FLAC format, I went into looking for a way to get the Zune software to play files that have FLAC in it. So, I used Foobar2000 to convert them to AAC and then used the free MP3 to WMA converter and convert them to WMA lossy. They're all VBR.

After a lot of trouble I went though, I went back to AAC. I got all the tracks needed and it works. I don't know why I couldn't get the some of the missing tracks in WMA format, but oh well. I guess I'll have to maintain two file formats, FLAC (Ubuntu and Windows) and AAC (Zune).

Thanks for your help, though.



GraysonPeddie is offline  

Old 04-18-2010, 05:55 PM   #6
Grimm312
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 254
Grimm312 is on a distinguished road
Default

No worries mate.

Just a suggestion, try running the files that aren't working through the converter again. This oftentimes fixes issues with my video files, so it might work for you and your audio.




Grimm312 is offline  

Old 04-19-2010, 08:51 AM   #7
GraysonPeddie
Zewbie
 
GraysonPeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando, FL 32825-3166
Posts: 5
GraysonPeddie is on a distinguished road
Default

Ah, thanks for you suggestion.

AAC files will only be used for Zune player, on which I'll buy myself a Windows Phone 7 phone when it comes out later this year (and my contract with Sprint will be up on November (currently have Samsung Ace)).



GraysonPeddie is offline  

Old 04-24-2010, 02:59 AM   #8
GraysonPeddie
Zewbie
 
GraysonPeddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Orlando, FL 32825-3166
Posts: 5
GraysonPeddie is on a distinguished road
Default

I'd like to give everyone an update: I have reconverted some of my tracks from FLAC to AAC at 500k and then from AAC to WMA with a quality of VBR at 50% (44.1 Stereo). The Impression album from Chip Davis gets a quality setting of 48kHz Stereo at 90%. I used Foobar2000 to go from FLAC to AAC (I did get Windows Media 9 Encoder 64-Bit but it does not seem to cncode to WMA format (I use 64-Bit version of Vista Ultimate with AMD64). After that, I use Free Mp3 Wma Converter to convert my tracks to WMA. I think most tracks may not need a setting of 75 or 90, but at some point if I hear ailasing at a quality of 50, I bump it up to 90 (after I go from FLAC -> AAC -> WMA).

The reason why I do this is so I can listen to music in Windows Mobile 6.1 Standard (I miss the touch-screen feature) as I currently do not have Zune.



GraysonPeddie is offline  

Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
albums, missing, omitted, tracks

Thread Tools
no new posts