Go Back   Zune Boards > Zune Discussions > Zune Games and Applications > Development Discussions

Development Discussions All developers who are coding games may stop by here for any help, suggestions, and everything development related.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2010, 09:18 PM   #1
HDRobot
Jr. Member
 
HDRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 441
HDRobot is on a distinguished road
Exclamation World Wide Application Menu: Creation Zone

Hello, creators of all apps. I, along wit some assistance from Doogle, have created a system that allows multiple apps to run on one app, to stop the 26 seconds EXACCTLY, that it takes for the Zune to restart. Here is my app layout:

UPDATED: zWAM now has a new UI that will be available soon. This UI is similar to that of the zuneHD's but has customizable backgrounds and font colours


Now. All I request from anyone out there who owns a source code to a game, or has a source code game available:

1. I need you to PM or post here your source code (no source codes will be used for anything but this purpose)

2. I need your 64x64pixel thumbnail to enhance into the selection menu.
This CANNOT include the origional Zune Thumbnail

3. I need who created and a description of the game, aswell as any copyright infrigments

4. This is optional, but it would make it easier on my behalf (I'm going to be working with alot of games: Can you create another Exit route from your game that uses a four finger touch method.

Thank you, and please remember, if you know of ANY source codes out there, plese bring them here. All property is owned by the person and I am only combining them together as one app. I hope you reason on this method, to help save your time, from the Zune reseting. Cheers!

Last edited by HDRobot; 04-17-2010 at 01:37 PM.





HDRobot is offline   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 03-02-2010, 04:17 AM   #2
SteppingSplash
Half Bad
Expert Zuner
 
SteppingSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 3,453
SteppingSplash has a spectacular aura aboutSteppingSplash has a spectacular aura about
Default

So you want us to give you source even if if isn't ours?




SteppingSplash is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 06:07 AM   #3
HDRobot
Jr. Member
 
HDRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 441
HDRobot is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteppingSplash View Post
So you want us to give you source even if if isn't ours?
yes. As long as you have a thumbnail and the creator. If you can not obtain a thumbnail, I guess I could make one for the game....





HDRobot is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 12:11 PM   #4
dooglehead
><(((º>
Support Team
Graduate Zuner
 
dooglehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,361
dooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to dooglehead Send a message via Skype™ to dooglehead
Default

A couple questions:

Do you need my source codes or do you already have them? (I updated my metronome app)
What code needs to be added to the apps so that it returns to the menu after pressing with four fingers? (You just wrote to make an exit route.)
Will it support multitasking?
Also, could you send me the source code of this menu system? I just want to see how the class system works.

If it will support multitasking, I would assume that when you exit an app, you would need to pause all sound effects and music, and resume them when you go return to the app.

Last edited by dooglehead; 03-02-2010 at 12:16 PM.




dooglehead is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 01:05 PM   #5
Rob
Banned
Super Zuner
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,936
Rob will become famous soon enough
Default

What do you mean "The Original Zune Thumbnail"?







Rob is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 01:07 PM   #6
SteppingSplash
Half Bad
Expert Zuner
 
SteppingSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 3,453
SteppingSplash has a spectacular aura aboutSteppingSplash has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berty View Post
What do you mean "The Original Zune Thumbnail"?
The thumbnail that appears when you go to that app in the "Apps" menu




SteppingSplash is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 01:12 PM   #7
Rob
Banned
Super Zuner
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,936
Rob will become famous soon enough
Default

why cant i use that?







Rob is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 01:48 PM   #8
dooglehead
><(((º>
Support Team
Graduate Zuner
 
dooglehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,361
dooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to dooglehead Send a message via Skype™ to dooglehead
Default

I think he means not to use the blue-ish default xna thumbnail but I am not sure.




dooglehead is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:02 PM   #9
Rob
Banned
Super Zuner
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,936
Rob will become famous soon enough
Default

ohh, that makes alot more sense to me lol!







Rob is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:11 PM   #10
HDRobot
Jr. Member
 
HDRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 441
HDRobot is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berty View Post
ohh, that makes alot more sense to me lol!
Sorry, for not explaining. The thumbnail you use CANNOT be the default blue thumbnail at the start up.

@Doogle: By multitasking do you mean playing music in all apps?

So far...seems like this app menu has gone nowhere. If noone posts their apps, this whole project is gone doing the drain.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by dooglehead View Post
A couple questions:

Do you need my source codes or do you already have them? (I updated my metronome app)
What code needs to be added to the apps so that it returns to the menu after pressing with four fingers? (You just wrote to make an exit route.)
Will it support multitasking?
Also, could you send me the source code of this menu system? I just want to see how the class system works.

If it will support multitasking, I would assume that when you exit an app, you would need to pause all sound effects and music, and resume them when you go return to the app.
Yes. Could you post your updated source codes here Doogle? Thanks.

Last edited by Red Sky; 03-02-2010 at 05:06 PM. Reason: double ffr use edit.





HDRobot is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:23 PM   #11
dooglehead
><(((º>
Support Team
Graduate Zuner
 
dooglehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,361
dooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to dooglehead Send a message via Skype™ to dooglehead
Default

by multitasking I mean that when you quit an app and then return to it, it will be in the state that it was at when you quit it.

http://gideos.zoomshare.com/files/ZuneMetronome.zip
http://gideos.zoomshare.com/files/ZuneQuad.zip
http://gideos.zoomshare.com/files/NumGuess.zip

I did not add the ability for apps to quit with four fingers because I do not know how It will return to the menu.




dooglehead is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:32 PM   #12
HDRobot
Jr. Member
 
HDRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 441
HDRobot is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dooglehead View Post
by multitasking I mean that when you quit an app and then return to it, it will be in the state that it was at when you quit it.

http://gideos.zoomshare.com/files/ZuneMetronome.zip
http://gideos.zoomshare.com/files/ZuneQuad.zip
http://gideos.zoomshare.com/files/NumGuess.zip

I did not add the ability for apps to quit with four fingers because I do not know how It will return to the menu.
Sorry. I was not explicit. Just add in the if statement for four fingers being touched, and then add the result as this.Exit(); and it exits the current game. Going back to the menu. I have not enhanced multitasking, but shall work on that. I would like to know how you did that problem?





HDRobot is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:35 PM   #13
cmoserror1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

dude thats pretty cool i hope this works out i wanna try it.



  Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:37 PM   #14
HDRobot
Jr. Member
 
HDRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 441
HDRobot is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmoserror1 View Post
dude thats pretty cool i hope this works out i wanna try it.
This wont work out unless I get enough source codes. Try and spread the word if you could. Thanks though!





HDRobot is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:42 PM   #15
dooglehead
><(((º>
Support Team
Graduate Zuner
 
dooglehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,361
dooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to dooglehead Send a message via Skype™ to dooglehead
Default

I will update those downloads to detect 4 fingers. For multitasking, make it so it loads and initializes the content when you first open the app. Do not unload any content when you close it. When you open the app again, skip those processes. Also, make sure the apps do not share any variables. Unfortunately, with multitasking, there would be a limit to the amount of apps open because of the 16mb ram limitation. If you do have multitasking, could make an option to close an app completely to save ram.

oh and I hope you like my new signature.




dooglehead is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:42 PM   #16
SteppingSplash
Half Bad
Expert Zuner
 
SteppingSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 3,453
SteppingSplash has a spectacular aura aboutSteppingSplash has a spectacular aura about
Default

Try posting visitor messages or PMing some developers here on zB. I'm sure they'd give you their sources.

Edit: @dooglehead: I'm sure that sig will attract people too!!




SteppingSplash is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:46 PM   #17
HDRobot
Jr. Member
 
HDRobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 441
HDRobot is on a distinguished road
Default

Well, my first trouble with the app menu is that if I put in an app that contains a constant setter, the game might overload a crash. That's why Microsoft made the Zune reset each game. I'm going to have to be REALLY carefully about having multiple things running in the program, otherwise the Zune's memory could build up. I guess I will add multitasking soon. I could make it that if you exit the app, and then don't play that app for another 5 apps, then it doesn't save the load. Your method seems good. I was looking at it another way, but yours seems more efficient.

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteppingSplash View Post
Try posting visitor messages or PMing some developers here on zB. I'm sure they'd give you their sources.

Edit: @dooglehead: I'm sure that sig will attract people too!!
I'm acctually going to create a sig symbol to attract more attension. Nice idea Doogle.

Last edited by Pyho; 03-02-2010 at 02:53 PM. Reason: Double Post





HDRobot is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:52 PM   #18
SteppingSplash
Half Bad
Expert Zuner
 
SteppingSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 3,453
SteppingSplash has a spectacular aura aboutSteppingSplash has a spectacular aura about
Default

About how many apps are you planning to implement into each menu app???




SteppingSplash is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:55 PM   #19
J2800
sig parvis magna
Retired Staff
Zune Lord
 
J2800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sexyland
Posts: 5,061
J2800 is a name known to allJ2800 is a name known to allJ2800 is a name known to allJ2800 is a name known to allJ2800 is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteppingSplash View Post
About how many apps are you planning to implement into each menu app???

Looks to be at least twelve. Could be fifteen, depending on the number of rows.




J2800 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-02-2010, 02:58 PM   #20
dooglehead
><(((º>
Support Team
Graduate Zuner
 
dooglehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,361
dooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nicedooglehead is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to dooglehead Send a message via Skype™ to dooglehead
Default

ok I updated the source codes to my apps.
http://gideos.zoomshare.com/files/Source_Codes.zip

The place where the apps will quit will be where there is this comment all the way to the left side of the code:
Code:
//THIS IS WHERE THE APP WILL QUIT.




dooglehead is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts