Old 11-01-2008, 07:37 PM   #1
Bolt
zB President
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In your closet, in your head
Posts: 3,311
Bolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to Bolt
Default HOW TO INSTALL ZUNE GAMES

PLEASE read this before asking how to put games on your zune

I used a lot of runtohell121's material, I didnt want to re-write it. Some things needed to be changed to make it for 3.0.


1. Download the following 4 programs:
C# Express Edition 2008 download
XNA Game Studio 3.1
XNA Game Studio 3.1 Zune Extensions
7-zip

2. Install C# 2008 first

3. Now install the XNA Game Studio program.

Make sure to install 7-zip, you'll need it later.

4. After installing it, Open up C# and try to find the monitor with the x/cross on it (shown by picture below). If you can't find it, you can also use Start-->Programs-->Microsoft XNA Game Studio 3.0-->XNA Game Studio Device Center.



5. once that is open.. you'll see this should be empty if you haven't add any device on it yet.


6. click on the "+" sign in green.
7. another new window will pop up like this:


8. click on the zune
9. theres a window like this.. and click on your zune



10. click on next and it will say testing connection.


To download 3.0 games, go to this page: http://www.zuneboards.com/forums/dow...-software.html

SAVE THE GAME, THEN OPEN IT AND EXTRACT THE FILES WITH 7-ZIP

There are 2 different types of games; games with source, and .ccgames.

FOR GAMES WITH SOURCE

GO BACK TO C#

Click Open, and then click on where you saved the extracted files. BE SURE TO CLICK ON THE .SLN FILE. This is the solution file, which compiles all of the different programs.



MAKE SURE THE ZUNE SOFTWARE IS NOT OPEN

Click on Build --> deploy (name of game) (shown below)



FOR .CCGAMES

Just open the .ccgame file, then unpack. It'll deploy to your default zune.



MAKE SURE THE ZUNE SOFTWARE IS NOT OPEN FOR EITHER WAY! If it is, it won't work.

IF YOU GET ERROR 2160 DEPLOYING .CCGAMES

You have the wrong version of XNA. XNA versions do not work with each other. Games made with XNA 3.0 Beta do not work with XNA 3.0 Final, and vice versa.

If you really want to know how to put games on your zune that were made with 3.0 Beta, go here: http://www.zuneboards.com/forums/dow...tml#post328380

_____________________

I also just ran into this problem; if you rename your zune (i changed mine from my name to iPod Killer) you have to repeat steps 4-10. It's easy.

If I need anything else, please tell me. Remember, the games download site is http://www.zuneboards.com/forums/dow...-software.html

I changed the C# download to a direct link, to avoid confusion.

Last edited by Bolt; 10-16-2009 at 03:44 PM. Reason: 3.1 Zune Extensions



Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 11-03-2008, 04:37 AM   #2
Zerosleep
Squirt
 
Zerosleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 10
Zerosleep is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Zerosleep Send a message via Yahoo to Zerosleep
Default

I have never installed Games on Zune before even on the earlier versions this is the first time so please help me from a noobs point of view

I downloaded 2-3 games [Zune Minesweeper 3.1, Zune Boards Manic Miner 3.0] unzipped them, when to Visual Studio 2008 clicked open gave the path to a .sln file of 1 of the game and I get error saying : Unable To Read The Project File "Minesweeper.csproj". Absolute Path Information is Required

I tried with different games but still I get the same error

Please help me! I am tired of playing preinstalled games on this Zune :|

Btw it shows

XNA Game Studio Connect

waiting for computer

exit


on my Zune

Last edited by Zerosleep; 11-03-2008 at 04:40 AM.




Zerosleep is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2008, 05:39 AM   #3
Locke
Not to be trifled with
Senior Editor
Super Moderator
Demi Zuner
 
Locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,818
Locke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to behold
Default

Did you extract the files out of the .zip first?



Locke is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2008, 05:54 AM   #4
runtohell121
*disappeared*
Zune Priest
 
runtohell121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: a small town in california....
Posts: 6,915
runtohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to runtohell121
Default

ehh.. it seems very similar to my tutorial.. just that it has newer software seems way too similar to meeee




runtohell121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2008, 06:26 AM   #5
Zerosleep
Squirt
 
Zerosleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 10
Zerosleep is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Zerosleep Send a message via Yahoo to Zerosleep
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locke View Post
Did you extract the files out of the .zip first?
lol yes, when I double click on .sln file I get that error :|




Zerosleep is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2008, 12:30 PM   #6
Bolt
zB President
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In your closet, in your head
Posts: 3,311
Bolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to Bolt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by runtohell121 View Post
ehh.. it seems very similar to my tutorial.. just that it has newer software seems way too similar to meeee
It is. You didn't update yours for zune firmware 3.0 though, and if you looked at the last few pages of comments people are really confused. I made another one with a few changes, just updating stuff. If you had (or want to) update yours that'd be good

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zerosleep View Post
lol yes, when I double click on .sln file I get that error :|
I don't think you're opening the right thing, is the final thing saved as csproj? (checking now) no, its not. I'm updating with the pics now.

Last edited by Bolt; 11-04-2008 at 01:14 PM.



Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2008, 02:39 PM   #7
runtohell121
*disappeared*
Zune Priest
 
runtohell121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: a small town in california....
Posts: 6,915
runtohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to runtohell121
Default

the only reason why i don't deal with mine is, is that i don't use my zune as much anymore, i have other mp3 players and phones that will do the job.. i rather just carry 1 device instead of 2.. anyways good tutorial... i'm just too lazy to post new links and answer questions.. been getting too many spam messages on aim or even zB mail box sometime about the same questions




runtohell121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-04-2008, 04:52 PM   #8
Bolt
zB President
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In your closet, in your head
Posts: 3,311
Bolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to Bolt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by runtohell121 View Post
the only reason why i don't deal with mine is, is that i don't use my zune as much anymore, i have other mp3 players and phones that will do the job.. i rather just carry 1 device instead of 2.. anyways good tutorial... i'm just too lazy to post new links and answer questions.. been getting too many spam messages on aim or even zB mail box sometime about the same questions
Thanks. I just did it because I didnt think you were going to.

Last edited by Bolt; 11-06-2008 at 04:30 AM.



Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2008, 07:27 PM   #9
Cooper99
Jr. Zuner
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 35
Cooper99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Did you figure out how to stick the Zunealarm on without the restarting?



Cooper99 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2008, 07:29 PM   #10
Bolt
zB President
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In your closet, in your head
Posts: 3,311
Bolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to Bolt
Default

Oh, so that it actually loads instead of resetting the zune when you try to play it? I had that before I updated to XNA 3.0 Final. I think your problem is that you don't have the final version of Xna. Download details: Microsoft XNA Game Studio 3.0



Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2008, 07:52 PM   #11
runtohell121
*disappeared*
Zune Priest
 
runtohell121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: a small town in california....
Posts: 6,915
runtohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to runtohell121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtacious View Post
Thanks. I just did it because I didnt think you were going to.

EDIT: DOES ANYONE KNOW WHO TO ASK TO GET THREADS STICKIED? IT'D BE EASIER TO SEE.
you don't ask mods/section staff sticky it if they think it is important.. which right now it don't seem much important since most people in my thread already said that new version needs new software also




runtohell121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-05-2008, 07:58 PM   #12
Cooper99
Jr. Zuner
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 35
Cooper99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Dude. I do.



Cooper99 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-06-2008, 04:30 AM   #13
Bolt
zB President
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In your closet, in your head
Posts: 3,311
Bolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to Bolt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by runtohell121 View Post
you don't ask mods/section staff sticky it if they think it is important.. which right now it don't seem much important since most people in my thread already said that new version needs new software also
OK. Hopefully someone thinks it's important.



Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-12-2008, 02:41 PM   #14
ejstan
Jr. Zuner
 
ejstan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
ejstan is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the tutorial



ejstan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2008, 11:04 AM   #15
tony125
Squirt
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: T&T
Posts: 25
tony125 is on a distinguished road
Default

please help i get stuck when trying to install visual C#. Its stuck on Microsoft .Net Framework 3.5 SP1

i restarted and its working fine
Sorry about that

Last edited by tony125; 11-15-2008 at 11:17 AM. Reason: resolved




tony125 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2008, 03:40 PM   #16
coolgal_play@yahoo.com
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
coolgal_play@yahoo.com is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

I got everything I needed to download and got to the part XNA and it would not read my Zune and i made sure the zune software was not running. Help somebody



coolgal_play@yahoo.com is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-15-2008, 04:44 PM   #17
Bolt
zB President
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In your closet, in your head
Posts: 3,311
Bolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to Bolt
Default

I hate that. Um... I think it worked after I tried a few times. Disconnect your zune, reconnect, x out of the software, try again. Also make sure to close Xna game studio and open it again. It worked for me.



Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-18-2008, 08:35 PM   #18
doubleagent13
Squirt
 
doubleagent13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
doubleagent13 is on a distinguished road
Default Microsoft Visual

i cant install visual c# i even contacted MS support and they said i had to pay $250 am installing c++ and then ill try OMG nvm it happend with c++ also heres what it says it also says it for c#
will c# 2005 work for this or just 2008 plz respond
=======================
Description:
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Express Edition with SP1 - ENU has encountered a problem during setup. Setup did not complete correctly.

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: VisualStudio8Setup
Problem Signature 01: 10860
Problem Signature 02: 9.0.30729.01_ORCAS_X86_NET
Problem Signature 03: MC
Problem Signature 04: INST
Problem Signature 05: F
Problem Signature 06: Microsoft.VC90.ATL,version="9.0.30729.1",publ
Problem Signature 07: 0x800736B3
Problem Signature 08: 1603
Problem Signature 09: Commit
Problem Signature 10: gencomp329,{12cd
OS Version: 6.0.6000.2.0.0.768.2
Locale ID: 1033

Additional information about the problem:
LCID: 1033




doubleagent13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-19-2008, 04:11 AM   #19
Bolt
zB President
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
Bolt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In your closet, in your head
Posts: 3,311
Bolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to beholdBolt is a splendid one to behold
Send a message via Yahoo to Bolt
Default

That's really weird. Did you go here and install the C# download? Downloads



Bolt is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-19-2008, 11:47 AM   #20
doubleagent13
Squirt
 
doubleagent13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
doubleagent13 is on a distinguished road
Default

yes thats where i go to download and then run it there are some people who have the same problem i think here is the video of a person that gets something similar to me i dont have 5 posts yet so i have to put the link seperatly since i dont want to spam
www youtube com /watch?v=Rq36Q9s9r9M
fix the url

another fact on that video she has prob with only 1 thing wich is the .net framework 3.5 or w/e i get on all of the instalation a big fat red cross

Last edited by Nanaki; 12-03-2008 at 01:58 PM. Reason: merge




doubleagent13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts