Go Back   Zune Boards > General Discussions > The Archives

The Archives Classic threads from more simple times.

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-09-2008, 08:12 AM   #1
TheAnte
Zewbie
 
TheAnte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2
TheAnte is on a distinguished road
Default edit: Unable to update zune firmware

Hello.
I'm a owner of a zune 30gb, which I've been using for a long time. Anyhow I reinstalled Windows XP on my computer some time ago, and my zune software was removed. Now I wish to install the zune software again, in order to add some new songs.

Now that I try to install, the zune software says:

Unexpected error

Setup engine: EndLocalInstall failed

Error code: 0x8000ffff

So what is this about? Been trying to search for it but I don't find anyone with the same problem. It happens in the beginning as soon as I've pressed install. I'm trying to install the latest software (3.0 I think) and what might be special is that I'm trying to install it on a non-english operating system (though I know what to do before install and I've had it working before, but with the disc version of the software)

Any help would be awesome!
Thanks, regards TheAnte


EDIT: Hmm okey activating internet removed the error but brought me another. So you can't install the zune software without internet with the newer version, and with internet on a non-english OS it refuse to install...splendid Microsoft -_-

Can't access Microsoft Update

Can't contact Microsoft Update right now. Please try again later.

Error code: 0x8024402c

EDIT2: Used the guide located in another post here. Worked perfectly installing the software, thanks to the guide maker!

EDIT3: Right...so now I got the software working, but not the zune.I can't fill my zune with stuff before I've updated it, and the software fails to do this (And I'm talking about the firmware), i don't know why. Any help for this would be totally awesome. Thanks.

Last edited by TheAnte; 10-09-2008 at 10:19 AM. Reason: Old problem solved, new problem found




TheAnte is offline  

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 11-04-2008, 03:34 PM   #2
kornbikerthormx
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
kornbikerthormx is on a distinguished road
Default

Same problem but on my 80gb... does it have anything to does with not haven a high speed hub usb port



kornbikerthormx is offline  

Old 11-05-2008, 05:10 PM   #3
defamemyheart
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
defamemyheart is on a distinguished road
Default

Same issue.

I can't figure out HOW to "enable" my internet. Step-by-step guide for XP users?



defamemyheart is offline  

Old 11-11-2008, 08:24 AM   #4
irvken
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
irvken is on a distinguished road
Default Help!! Can't load Zune either 0x8000ffff

I recently also had to reload windows xp. Now I'm trying to load Zune software and at the begining of loading, I get the following:

Unexpected error

Setup Engine: Endlocalinstall failed

Error Code: 0x000ffff



What's causinf this? What can I do?

Please help.

Thanks



irvken is offline  

Old 11-30-2008, 10:55 PM   #5
BubbaGump
Banned
Squirt
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
BubbaGump is on a distinguished road
Default

I fixed it on my pc (it wouldnt install on a fresh install of xp pro sp3) my zune 30gb gave me the same error you guys are getting. I scrolled the entire EULA up and down once, clicked accept. Then I clicked change location, it opened an explorer window to designate a new location for my zune setup, I just clicked ok, then went back to the setup and it worked flawlessly. I hope this helps you guys.

Ryan



BubbaGump is offline  

Old 12-02-2008, 06:19 AM   #6
Locke
Is the order a rabbit?
Senior Editor
Super Moderator
Demi Zuner
 
Locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,840
Locke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BubbaGump View Post
I fixed it on my pc (it wouldnt install on a fresh install of xp pro sp3) my zune 30gb gave me the same error you guys are getting. I scrolled the entire EULA up and down once, clicked accept. Then I clicked change location, it opened an explorer window to designate a new location for my zune setup, I just clicked ok, then went back to the setup and it worked flawlessly. I hope this helps you guys.

Ryan
Please don't bump old topics. Replies spilt and topic locked.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Locke is offline  

 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts