Go Back   Zune Boards > General Discussions > The Archives > H&M General Talk > Zune Hacks & Mods > Requests

Requests Have a great idea? Request hacks here!

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2008, 03:14 PM   #1
Eximius
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Eximius is on a distinguished road
Default Range hack for Zune Car Pack v2

ive seen the hack for the other transmitter, but wanted to know if there was one for the v2 transmitter. i have a Subaru, so the antenna is formed into the rear defroster = horrible reception.



Eximius is offline  

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 11-09-2008, 03:20 AM   #2
drperry
Squirt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 14
drperry is on a distinguished road
Default

I opened mine up tonight... And I can't really seem to find anything that's an obvious antenna...

I wanted to take out the magnet... Wouldn't want that accidentally coming in contact with the Zune, lol.

I'm going to do some tinkering, and hope that I don't fry it, lol




drperry is offline  

Old 12-04-2008, 07:59 PM   #3
repenttokyo
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
repenttokyo is on a distinguished road
Default

Any Updates on this? I too am very interested in the range hack, as I just got my transmitter today and it is TERRIBLE.



repenttokyo is offline  

Old 12-04-2008, 10:19 PM   #4
Locke
Is the order a rabbit?
Senior Editor
Super Moderator
Demi Zuner
 
Locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,840
Locke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to behold
Default

Doesn't look like any updates so far, nope.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Locke is offline  

Old 12-05-2008, 01:04 AM   #5
Criztaztrophe
Jr. Member
 
Criztaztrophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The IL Side of the St.L
Posts: 386
Criztaztrophe is a jewel in the roughCriztaztrophe is a jewel in the rough
Default

What does the range hack do? I dont have a transmitter for my Jeep (YET) but I would like to know if there is a direction to head in before I buy some kind of car pack.




Criztaztrophe is offline  

Old 12-05-2008, 05:49 AM   #6
Locke
Is the order a rabbit?
Senior Editor
Super Moderator
Demi Zuner
 
Locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,840
Locke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to behold
Default

A range hack extends the range of the transmitter, which is famously small.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Locke is offline  

Old 12-05-2008, 05:59 AM   #7
Criztaztrophe
Jr. Member
 
Criztaztrophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The IL Side of the St.L
Posts: 386
Criztaztrophe is a jewel in the roughCriztaztrophe is a jewel in the rough
Default

Ahh, cool, thanks.




Criztaztrophe is offline  

Old 12-05-2008, 06:38 AM   #8
runtohell121
*disappeared*
Zune Priest
 
runtohell121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: a small town in california....
Posts: 6,915
runtohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to runtohell121
Default

but the down point is.. if you extend it.. other car that hav the same radio station *cough* almost all fm transmitter are weak in range.




runtohell121 is offline  

Old 12-05-2008, 09:10 PM   #9
repenttokyo
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
repenttokyo is on a distinguished road
Default

my information is obviously not welcome here.

Last edited by repenttokyo; 12-16-2008 at 02:11 PM.



repenttokyo is offline  

Old 12-05-2008, 10:19 PM   #10
Criztaztrophe
Jr. Member
 
Criztaztrophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The IL Side of the St.L
Posts: 386
Criztaztrophe is a jewel in the roughCriztaztrophe is a jewel in the rough
Default

Im thinking about just getting a new head unit that has the audio jack in it.




Criztaztrophe is offline  

Old 12-05-2008, 10:31 PM   #11
runtohell121
*disappeared*
Zune Priest
 
runtohell121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: a small town in california....
Posts: 6,915
runtohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to runtohell121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Criztaztrophe View Post
Im thinking about just getting a new head unit that has the audio jack in it.
that's the good idea.. spending too much on fm transmitter=no good.. fm transmitter sound quality can't beat car deck unit




runtohell121 is offline  

Old 12-06-2008, 12:07 AM   #12
Justananomaly
The Digital Phantom
Retired Admin
Zune Lord
 
Justananomaly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,543
Justananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offerJustananomaly is the best the web has to offer
Default

lol "head unit",
I'll take two.



Justananomaly is offline  

Old 12-06-2008, 02:34 AM   #13
Criztaztrophe
Jr. Member
 
Criztaztrophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The IL Side of the St.L
Posts: 386
Criztaztrophe is a jewel in the roughCriztaztrophe is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justananomaly View Post
lol "head unit",
I'll take two.
Considering you significant other is ready to pop one out (hopefully head first) you can have two by order of the king.




Criztaztrophe is offline  

Old 12-06-2008, 07:41 AM   #14
repenttokyo
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
repenttokyo is on a distinguished road
Default

my information is obviously not welcome here.

Last edited by repenttokyo; 12-16-2008 at 02:13 PM.



repenttokyo is offline  

Old 12-06-2008, 08:16 AM   #15
runtohell121
*disappeared*
Zune Priest
 
runtohell121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: a small town in california....
Posts: 6,915
runtohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud ofruntohell121 has much to be proud of
Send a message via AIM to runtohell121
Default

don't BMW usually have an aux port you can probably add an extension of aux port from the head unit of the bmw.. but will cost you $$$.. most of the standard car head unit that comes with the car do have more ports for you to add stuff.




runtohell121 is offline  

Old 12-06-2008, 09:40 PM   #16
itsnotabigtruck
R E D R U M
Development Front
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
itsnotabigtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,975
itsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant future
Default

Has there been any progress on this front? I've got a car pack and it was unusable when I bought it (haven't tried the latest firmware update yet, but I doubt it made an improvement significant enough to be game-changing).

There are two vectors through which such a hack might be implemented:

- Opening up the car pack unit and modifying it to amp it up (e.g. by removing a resistor or something)
- Hacking the firmware and somehow managing to load it onto the car pack unit





itsnotabigtruck is offline  

Old 12-06-2008, 10:16 PM   #17
berdon
Jr. Member
 
berdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 316
berdon has disabled reputation
Send a message via MSN to berdon
Default

It's pretty easy to extend the range of most FM transmitters. Find the antenna wire (if the company wasn't lazy, it's most likely marked), unsolder the wire, solder your own wire (preferably around 32 inches) in place of the old antenna and viola, you're range should be about half a city block.





berdon is offline  

Old 12-07-2008, 01:30 PM   #18
itsnotabigtruck
R E D R U M
Development Front
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
itsnotabigtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,975
itsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant future
Default

No one has to tear down their Zune car pack, because Microsoft already did it for you for their FCC application. This should provide all the info necessary to locate any viable antenna attach points (no point in opening one up if there isn't any way to complete the hack).

It appears that the aluminum backing is glued on, which sucks pretty seriously (as that means there won't be a clean way to put it back together again).





itsnotabigtruck is offline  

Old 12-16-2008, 10:17 PM   #19
itsnotabigtruck
R E D R U M
Development Front
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
itsnotabigtruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,975
itsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant futureitsnotabigtruck has a brilliant future
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by repenttokyo View Post
my information is obviously not welcome here.
I'd like to indicate that your information was certainly appreciated, at least before you nuked it. I'm sorry about the double post thing, though them's the rules - you got the warning because of the 4th post. Just make sure to avoid posting consecutively in a thread until a 24 hour interval has passed between posts. This forum has a multi-quote feature; the button's near the normal quote button. It doesn't quite work right though, so a more functional way is just to open the quote page for several different posts in multiple tabs, then collating the quote blocks into one large post. This way, you can quote multiple posts without risking a warning.





itsnotabigtruck is offline  

Old 01-06-2009, 11:23 AM   #20
grandrob
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
grandrob is on a distinguished road
Default

After some searching, I think I found the antenna on the circuit card. So I disassembled the unit went to my car and plugged it in and got the same crappy static then I touched where I thought the antenna was and got a good reception from my stereo. I took the circuit card back to my garage and I soldered in the new antenna and I am happy with the results. THE WARNING, TRY THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK AND IS FOR RESEARCH PURPOSES ONLY. I AM NOT LIABLE FOR ANY DAMAGES. Will post pics as soon as I can. Grandrob



grandrob is offline  

 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts