Go Back   Zune Boards > General Discussions > The Archives

The Archives Classic threads from more simple times.

Old 02-06-2008, 12:10 AM   #1
andreD
Zewbie

andreD is on a distinguished road
Default [SOLVED] How much space does a dvd movie take up on a hard drive?

Hey guys,
just put Land of The Dead on my hard drive and it took just over 8 gigs of space. I'm new to all this so is that about right? Can i reduce that amount, i used dvd decrypter and it was pretty quick.
Thanks
Andre

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 02-06-2008, 12:45 AM   #2
meth0dical

meth0dical is on a distinguished road

it depends on the movie length, the audio track types, and the special features.
if you just select the main movie and stereo audio you could probably get the size down to about 4-5 gigs. also if you compress the movie in the divx codec you could get it down to 700mb-1gb depending on the resolution and bitrate. the downside is that it could take a couple hours depending on your computer.
i use dvd fab platinum because they stay on top of the dvd protection methods, meaning you can back up all of your dvds. it gives you the option of copying the complete disc, or any specific chapters you want. it also lets you pick the audio tracks you want to copy/rip. it has a built in encoder so you can rip dvds to a whole bunch of formats, zune included.

Old 02-06-2008, 03:32 AM   #3
Gregory
Retired Staff
Ultimate Zuner

Gregory is a glorious beacon of lightGregory is a glorious beacon of lightGregory is a glorious beacon of light

Usually 4.7-8 GB.

Old 02-06-2008, 03:55 AM   #4
Gow
RIP 2007-2011
Retired Admin
Premium Member
Expert Zuner

Gow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant futureGow has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to Gow Send a message via MSN to Gow Send a message via Skype™ to Gow