Go Back   Zune Boards > News and Website Related > Front Page Articles > Archive

Archive Archived Front Page Articles.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2008, 08:14 PM   #21
gamefreak202
Squirt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
gamefreak202 is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm on the east coast so happy new year, but my zune should boot up saying its jan 1st now. And surprise surprise! it doesn't! Looks like time wasn't the answer.....



gamefreak202 is offline  

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 12-31-2008, 08:16 PM   #22
BubbaGump
Banned
Squirt
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
BubbaGump is on a distinguished road
Default

Code:
year = ORIGINYEAR; /* = 1980 */

while (days > 365+IsLeapYear(year))
{
    days -= 365+IsLeapYear(year);
    year++;
}
Much simpler solution.



BubbaGump is offline  

Old 12-31-2008, 08:27 PM   #23
gamefreak202
Squirt
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
gamefreak202 is on a distinguished road
Default

After reading microsofts report it said try rebooting your zune after 12 GMT. I calculated that 12 GMT is around 7 EST give or take an hour, I'm tired. If your in USA/Canada you should be able to figure out your time from that. Until then I guess hang in there.



gamefreak202 is offline  

Old 12-31-2008, 08:32 PM   #24
Pyho
Retired Staff
Expert Zuner
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,510
Pyho has much to be proud ofPyho has much to be proud ofPyho has much to be proud ofPyho has much to be proud ofPyho has much to be proud ofPyho has much to be proud ofPyho has much to be proud of
Default

The number of Links to this thread is staggering...
Why is the icon for the Digg my avatar?



Pyho is offline  

Old 12-31-2008, 08:53 PM   #25
b_frenzy
Jr. Zuner
 
b_frenzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 46
b_frenzy is on a distinguished road
Default

A lot of folks began to relaize this, but didn't understand exactly the problem. Good explanation.



b_frenzy is offline  

Old 12-31-2008, 11:23 PM   #26
twhoffman
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
twhoffman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by programphases View Post
This should work too:

Code:
year = ORIGINYEAR; /* = 1980 */

while (days > 365)
{
    if (IsLeapYear(year))
    {
        if (days > 366)
        {
            days -= 366;
            year += 1;
        }
        else if (days == 366)
           days -= 366;
    }
    else
    {
        days -= 365;
        year += 1;
    }
}
Wouldn't the if in your else statement be unecessary? If days > 365 and not > 366, it must == 366. I know it won't make much of a performance difference these days, but I cut my teeth on a 1 MHz 6502 and still cringe at wasted CPU cycles.

I haven't seen the rest of the code, but could setting days to 0 cause any problems? The code may be expecting days to be >= 1 or it might cause problems with DRM licensing.

I also found this code snippet from read.pudn.com/downloads88/sourcecode/embed/339383/EBOOT/timerxsc1.c__.htm that might be another solution:

Code:
year = ORIGINYEAR; 

while (1) 
{ 
      leap = isleap(year); 

      if (day < 365+leap) 
          break; 
      
      day -= 365+leap; 
      year++; 
} 
lpst->wYear = year;
By the way, I plugged my Zune in just after midnight. It's working just fine so far, though it did boot, show the menu, then immediately rebooted. After the reboot, everything seems okay, though the time is an hour ahead.

Edit: Of course, this might be even simpler, assuming that days == 1 on January 1, 1980. I plugged the formulas into Excel, used a few dates (year end on leap and non-leap years as well as mid-year and 1/1 dates), and it seems to work. It would be safer, since there are no loops to get stuck in.

Code:
year = floor ((days - 1) / 365.25);
days -= ceil (year * 365.25);
year += ORIGINYEAR;

Last edited by twhoffman; 01-01-2009 at 12:42 AM.



twhoffman is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 03:41 AM   #27
Dark
Squirt
 
Dark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 14
Dark is on a distinguished road
Default

This is definitely the most entertaining bug I've seen.




Dark is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 06:00 AM   #28
dirtboy
Squirt
 
dirtboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
dirtboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by itsnotabigtruck View Post
Good point.

Yeah. The ZuneInsider post didn't seem to imply it was something they were planning on correcting right away though.
Yeah, they have 4 years to work on this before they tick off their loyal customers again.





dirtboy is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 06:11 AM   #29
therealmorris
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
therealmorris is on a distinguished road
Default

My question is this, how come only the 30GB was affected? Do the newer models use different clocks, or is the firmware different?

Ah: forums.zune.net/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=412486
Quote:
Q: Why is this issue isolated to the Zune 30 device?

It is a bug in a driver for a part that is only used in the Zune 30 device.

Last edited by therealmorris; 01-01-2009 at 08:21 AM. Reason: Found the answer




therealmorris is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 06:12 AM   #30
nywytboy67
Zewbie
 
nywytboy67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
nywytboy67 is on a distinguished road
Default

Welcome back y'all!!!





nywytboy67 is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 07:18 AM   #31
Deedsy404
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 1
Deedsy404 is on a distinguished road
Default

I actually found this quite funny personally. Had I had to use my Zune last night maybe I would change my mind then. I thought the damn thing was shot when it was stuck on the white bar screen and I kept trying to reset it so I guess I was very thankful this was some stupid glitch versus my Zune being dead.




Deedsy404 is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 07:49 AM   #32
DeltaLoko
Zewbie
 
DeltaLoko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1
DeltaLoko is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to DeltaLoko
Default YES!!

Well, my Zune began to work this morning around 9 so I'm guessing Microsoft's assumption was correct




DeltaLoko is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 07:54 AM   #33
daflyboys
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
daflyboys is on a distinguished road
Default

So if they upgrade the firmware, but the Zune30 keeps giggin' out, how are we supposed to get the firmware into our Zunes?



daflyboys is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 09:00 AM   #34
Charge
If I'm not online, I probably am
Senior Editor
Support Team
GFX Crew
Premium Member
Super Moderator
Holy Zuner
 
Charge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 8,889
Charge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant future
Default

Well they have got 4 years to fix it.. It will probably be fixed in the next update.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Charge is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 09:01 AM   #35
paluma0268
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 4
paluma0268 is on a distinguished road
Default

Wow this was quite interesting! I, too, thought that my Zune had become a really expensive paperweight. Glad I fought the urge to throw it out the window yesterday on my way to work!




paluma0268 is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 09:07 AM   #36
Charge
If I'm not online, I probably am
Senior Editor
Support Team
GFX Crew
Premium Member
Super Moderator
Holy Zuner
 
Charge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 8,889
Charge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant future
Default

See now why did you think that? It was such an obvious mistake with the leap year and all. It was nothing Mechanical as it wouldn't happen all at once, it must've been firmware based therefore easily fixed.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Charge is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 09:12 AM   #37
xRush64x
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
xRush64x is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ultima View Post
cool thats good. i thought my zune was done for good which would have really sucked.
so did i but its all fixed now




xRush64x is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 09:13 AM   #38
Charge
If I'm not online, I probably am
Senior Editor
Support Team
GFX Crew
Premium Member
Super Moderator
Holy Zuner
 
Charge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 8,889
Charge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant future
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charge View Post
See now why did you think that? It was such an obvious mistake with the leap year and all. It was nothing Mechanical as it wouldn't happen all at once, it must've been firmware based therefore easily fixed.
There was really no need to worry
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Charge is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 09:35 AM   #39
teregova
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
teregova is on a distinguished road
Default

If your Zune started working again this morning, enjoy and be happy. Don't just assume that everyone else's Zune did the same thing. Mine did not. After following the instructions, it's still frozen on the start screen.

Last edited by teregova; 01-01-2009 at 09:38 AM.



teregova is offline  

Old 01-01-2009, 09:37 AM   #40
Charge
If I'm not online, I probably am
Senior Editor
Support Team
GFX Crew
Premium Member
Super Moderator
Holy Zuner
 
Charge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: England
Posts: 8,889
Charge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant futureCharge has a brilliant future
Default

then do a hard reset.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Charge is offline  

Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts