Go Back   Zune Boards > Zune Discussions > Zune Games and Applications > Game and Hack Support

Game and Hack Support Come here for help with any of the XNA based Zune Games or for help with any of the Hacks or zTools.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2011, 05:55 AM   #1
alpha8768
Experienced Zuner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 124
alpha8768 is on a distinguished road
Default Visual Boy Zune: changing layouts

Hey! What's up guys?

Since I started to use Visual Boy Zune, I added many GBA roms into it and the actual layout doesn't support the L and R buttons... Pretty annoying when they are the "Attack" and "Block" buttons xD

So... How do I change the layout?

Thank you very much!

P.S: Congratulations and thanks to the VBZ team. You guys made a really nice job!




alpha8768 is offline  

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 08-08-2011, 06:22 AM   #2
SteppingSplash
Half Bad
Expert Zuner
 
SteppingSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 3,453
SteppingSplash has a spectacular aura aboutSteppingSplash has a spectacular aura about
Default

This post will probably be half helpful, because I haven't touched anything VBZ related in years.

I believe you have to plug in your Zune to your computer, and find the VBZ file on your computer (the one you use to deploy the OpenZDK game to your Zune). You need to open up the folders in it, and find the folder where the layouts are saved.
Now, if you don't have a new layout yet, you'll have to get one. I believe there's an official layout thread here on zB (I'll link to it after I find it). Grab a layout from there and drag/drop it from your downloads folder (or wherever it's saved) to the layout folder.
Redeploy, and you should be set with a new layout!

Maybe.

And... not sure if this resets your game saves. Like I said, I haven't touched VBZ in forever, so I can't remember much. You might have to completely replace the layout that's already there...

Screw all that, this shows you everything.

Last edited by SteppingSplash; 08-08-2011 at 06:27 AM.




SteppingSplash is offline  

Old 08-08-2011, 07:55 AM   #3
alpha8768
Experienced Zuner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 124
alpha8768 is on a distinguished road
Default

I already saw this page and I found no kinds of tutorials :/

EDIT: Oh, I just found those lines:

To install layouts:Navigate through your VBZ deploykit folder until you are inside the "Layouts" folder. Choose which layout you want to get rid of, then delete the items INSIDE of the folder, not the folder itself. Now, take the files you downloaded for your layout, and move them all into the empty folder. There should be at least 2 images and a layout.txt file inside your folder for it to work properly. Redeploy (this will not delete saves) and your layouts will be on there if you did it correctly.

How did I miss them???

BTW, thank you very much!

_____________________

Instead of making another annoying thread, I decided to include another problem in this one.

My saves, doesn't work! When I save in-game, it shows that it is saving but when I qui the game, I get an error message... Someone knows how to solve it?

Thank you again!

Last edited by alpha8768; 08-08-2011 at 07:53 AM.




alpha8768 is offline  

Old 08-08-2011, 08:11 AM   #4
SteppingSplash
Half Bad
Expert Zuner
 
SteppingSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 3,453
SteppingSplash has a spectacular aura aboutSteppingSplash has a spectacular aura about
Default

Broken ROM?
Not sure.
Er, does it do that for ALL games you're trying?




SteppingSplash is offline  

Old 08-08-2011, 09:06 AM   #5
alpha8768
Experienced Zuner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 124
alpha8768 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, ALL games won't save...




alpha8768 is offline  

Old 08-08-2011, 09:47 AM   #6
Grim
Banned
Expert Zuner
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,016
Grim has a brilliant futureGrim has a brilliant futureGrim has a brilliant futureGrim has a brilliant futureGrim has a brilliant futureGrim has a brilliant futureGrim has a brilliant futureGrim has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to Grim Send a message via MSN to Grim
Default

I wrote a tut here.

http://www.zuneboards.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57224

EDIT: Are you sure you have the most up to date one?



Grim is offline  

Old 08-08-2011, 09:55 AM   #7
SteppingSplash
Half Bad
Expert Zuner
 
SteppingSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 3,453
SteppingSplash has a spectacular aura aboutSteppingSplash has a spectacular aura about
Default

He/she is wanting to know how to add a different layout, not how to MAKE one.




SteppingSplash is offline  

Old 08-08-2011, 10:25 AM   #8
alpha8768
Experienced Zuner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 124
alpha8768 is on a distinguished road
Default

Lol yeah but now I want to solve the saving problem... ALL my roms aren't saving and the "Menu" tab of VBZ is not appearing.

Now I'll try re-installing the app...




alpha8768 is offline  

Old 08-08-2011, 11:08 AM   #9
SteppingSplash
Half Bad
Expert Zuner
 
SteppingSplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Well wouldn't you like to know?
Posts: 3,453
SteppingSplash has a spectacular aura aboutSteppingSplash has a spectacular aura about
Default

Make sure you've got the LATEST version of the app.
I don't think people will be wanting to troubleshoot for an older version xD




SteppingSplash is offline  

Old 08-08-2011, 11:22 AM   #10
alpha8768
Experienced Zuner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 124
alpha8768 is on a distinguished road
Default

I have the 4/24/2011 version, which is supposed to be the latest one... I tried re-installing it and still no success.

Plus, the menu tab is empty (nothing displaying).

Last edited by alpha8768; 08-08-2011 at 03:48 PM.




alpha8768 is offline  

Old 08-31-2011, 12:44 PM   #11
alpha8768
Experienced Zuner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 124
alpha8768 is on a distinguished road
Default

Anything for my saving problems?




alpha8768 is offline  

Old 08-31-2011, 01:37 PM   #12
boohbah11
Graduate Zuner
 
boohbah11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: on a boat on a river...
Posts: 1,362
boohbah11 has a spectacular aura aboutboohbah11 has a spectacular aura about
Default

I believe if you go into liberate , and in flash2, you should find a file called something like vbz saves. Make sure it is still there.




boohbah11 is offline  

Old 08-31-2011, 05:20 PM   #13
alpha8768
Experienced Zuner
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 124
alpha8768 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boohbah11 View Post
I believe if you go into liberate , and in flash2, you should find a file called something like vbz saves. Make sure it is still there.
No, I don't have any folder like that in Flash2




alpha8768 is offline  

Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts