Go Back   Zune Boards > General Discussions > The Archives

The Archives Classic threads from more simple times.

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-10-2008, 05:30 PM   #21
Spike!
Jr. Member
 
Spike!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 318
Spike! is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedZepp View Post
You can just drop the rom files in the content folder, set their build action to none, and to copy them to the output folder if newer.
Although it will take a while to copy the rom files over to the zune i believe.
I thought the issue was that the zune wasen't designed to see other types of files in XNA or something. Unless the Emulator gets around this somehow.





Spike! is offline  

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 06-10-2008, 05:35 PM   #22
LedZepp
Experienced Member
 
LedZepp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 976
LedZepp has a spectacular aura aboutLedZepp has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spike! View Post
I thought the issue was that the zune wasen't designed to see other types of files in XNA or something. Unless the Emulator gets around this somehow.
I was wrong, the emulator even has its own importer to use for roms so no need to set the build action can still be compile.
But to your question, no xna can read/open any files that come with the game.

This works partly, I got it to read a Super Mario Land rom but button input hasnt been coded yet.




LedZepp is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 05:45 PM   #23
Spike!
Jr. Member
 
Spike!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 318
Spike! is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedZepp View Post
I was wrong, the emulator even has its own importer to use for roms so no need to set the build action can still be compile.
But to your question, no xna can read/open any files that come with the game.

This works partly, I got it to read a Super Mario Land rom but button input hasnt been coded yet.
Well it's something. I guess the only issue now is reliability/framerate.





Spike! is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 05:45 PM   #24
Soccerfreak24
Expert Zuner
 
Soccerfreak24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,029
Soccerfreak24 is just really niceSoccerfreak24 is just really niceSoccerfreak24 is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedZepp View Post
I was wrong, the emulator even has its own importer to use for roms so no need to set the build action can still be compile.
But to your question, no xna can read/open any files that come with the game.

This works partly, I got it to read a Super Mario Land rom but button input hasnt been coded yet.
Awesome, so that means we could expect super mario land in it's entirety soon?






Soccerfreak24 is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 05:46 PM   #25
jackluo923
Senior Zuner
 
jackluo923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Greater Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,245
jackluo923 has a spectacular aura aboutjackluo923 has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to jackluo923
Default

awesome




jackluo923 is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 06:05 PM   #26
zunebro
Experienced Zuner
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 188
zunebro is on a distinguished road
Default

wow man i'm trying to learn c# now you guys are awesome



zunebro is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 06:08 PM   #27
LedZepp
Experienced Member
 
LedZepp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 976
LedZepp has a spectacular aura aboutLedZepp has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soccerfreak24 View Post
Awesome, so that means we could expect super mario land in it's entirety soon?
Depends, if someone decides to make Controls, then yes




LedZepp is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 06:42 PM   #28
lpxxfaintxx
Retired Staff
Ultimate Zuner
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 5,906
lpxxfaintxx is a name known to alllpxxfaintxx is a name known to alllpxxfaintxx is a name known to alllpxxfaintxx is a name known to all
Default

Awesome, a huge step for Zune XNA development!

*cough* Pokemon *cough*




lpxxfaintxx is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 06:45 PM   #29
Soccerfreak24
Expert Zuner
 
Soccerfreak24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,029
Soccerfreak24 is just really niceSoccerfreak24 is just really niceSoccerfreak24 is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedZepp View Post
Depends, if someone decides to make Controls, then yes
Well, I can't imagine thats too difficult to do.






Soccerfreak24 is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 07:23 PM   #30
Tiptup300
Experienced Member
 
Tiptup300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 898
Tiptup300 has disabled reputation
Default

All the controls are done, I commented out the control detection before releasing.

If you guys make the emulator work well, I would happily do the menu system, rom selection, saving/loading profiles. Other than that nope, I don't know emulators, I also don't know raycasting. This is why I didn't/can't finish them.



Tiptup300 is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 10:29 PM   #31
cable729
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 312
cable729 is on a distinguished road
Default

tiptup, can you please explain how one would go about finding a gameboy game for download, and then getting it on the zune, if it's possible at this point?




cable729 is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 11:27 PM   #32
Spike!
Jr. Member
 
Spike!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 318
Spike! is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cable729 View Post
tiptup, can you please explain how one would go about finding a gameboy game for download, and then getting it on the zune, if it's possible at this point?
He just said that in it's current state the Emulator will not work on the Zune. Technically any ROM from any game is illegal unless you own the game and dump it yourself. You'd have to find a site that hosts the ROM files for download.





Spike! is offline  

Old 06-10-2008, 11:36 PM   #33
LedZepp
Experienced Member
 
LedZepp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 976
LedZepp has a spectacular aura aboutLedZepp has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spike! View Post
He just said that in it's current state the Emulator will not work on the Zune.
It does actually, Like i said before I got a game running but all the code for input was commented out so i was only able to see the start screen, and i havent looked at it since. Tiptup wants someone to optimize it.




LedZepp is offline  

Old 06-11-2008, 12:54 AM   #34
Spike!
Jr. Member
 
Spike!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 318
Spike! is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedZepp View Post
It does actually, Like i said before I got a game running but all the code for input was commented out so i was only able to see the start screen, and i havent looked at it since. Tiptup wants someone to optimize it.
Yes, I know, but you can't _do_ anything with it. Hence, in it's current state, it dosen't work. If you put it on your Zune you can't play games with it. Atleast not untill someone makes Controls for it.





Spike! is offline  

Old 06-11-2008, 05:42 AM   #35
Pauliver
Zuner
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Pauliver is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Pauliver Send a message via MSN to Pauliver
Default

Ignore my post about code changes, i had assumed since it wouldn't run the rom i tried that it needed the same changes as the NES emulator had needed, but like was said here, this does actually work on the zune with some roms.



Pauliver is offline  

Old 06-11-2008, 07:16 AM   #36
Ace1tk
Zuner
 
Ace1tk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 77
Ace1tk is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to Ace1tk
Default

If it works can someone optimize the emulator to actually work and run well on the zune. controls, menu layout, stuff like that. Alot of us thought this wasn't possible than Tiptup here show us up. lmao. good work Tiptup. You did something we thought impossible. +rep




Ace1tk is offline  

Old 06-11-2008, 08:38 AM   #37
LedZepp
Experienced Member
 
LedZepp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 976
LedZepp has a spectacular aura aboutLedZepp has a spectacular aura about
Default

The problem with the emulator is, is that it doesnt even work right, i tried to load up the same rom on the widows version of this and it looked like it worked perfectly at first, but the screen doesnt move right.




LedZepp is offline  

Old 06-11-2008, 09:04 AM   #38
MadameMasenko
Super Zuner
 
MadameMasenko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,719
MadameMasenko is a jewel in the roughMadameMasenko is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soccerfreak24 View Post
Hmm.. Glad to see a gameboy emulator, but playing games at 7 fps could be a bit fail. Good work none the less for the find.
Yeah I agree too if the problems was fixed
Great job op.





MadameMasenko is offline  

Old 06-11-2008, 10:03 AM   #39
yeloshu
Zuner
 
yeloshu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
yeloshu is on a distinguished road
Default

So, I don't have my Zune with me and my computer doesn't support pixel shading so I can't test the Windows version but I'm curious, does it not have any input system right now or does it work on Windows and just isn't implemented for the Zune yet? If it's just not ported from Windows to Zune, I could possibly do that myself.




yeloshu is offline  

Old 06-11-2008, 10:40 AM   #40
Lare2
Experienced Zuner
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 153
Lare2 is on a distinguished road
Default

In that screenshot looks like a Virtual GameBoy game



Lare2 is offline  

 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts