Go Back   Zune Boards > General Discussions > The Archives

The Archives Classic threads from more simple times.

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2009, 03:49 PM   #261
blackwood550
Experienced Zuner
 
blackwood550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Las Vegas
Posts: 201
blackwood550 is on a distinguished road
Default

Good luck to ya...yer gonna need it.


('es got no idea do e?)




blackwood550 is offline  

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 08-31-2009, 07:25 AM   #262
vbetts
Zewbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
vbetts is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordhoban View Post
You know, you're right! I've never worked on a xna program or emulation program in my life, but if I just *believe*... I-CAN-DO-IT.

Ok, my life's ambition is to make that emulator work for the 30 gig zune!
It's not emulation if you want to convert it.

The thing is though, a 500mhz cpu should enough for a gb emulator. I have no experience with XNA at all, but if I had to guess why it's not working right, is because the zune OS is not as open as what actual windows OS is for freeware. But then take into consideration other things, like the memory. 32mb was it or something like that? That's not enough really to load the emulator into, then process the rom. Unless something becomes more open for the Zune, I don't think we'll see anything improved until the ZuneHD comes out with the tegra inside of it. Until then, the only option is to basically remake the game.



vbetts is offline  

Old 08-31-2009, 07:42 AM   #263
Locke
Is the order a rabbit?
Senior Editor
Super Moderator
Demi Zuner
 
Locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,840
Locke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbetts View Post
It's not emulation if you want to convert it.

The thing is though, a 500mhz cpu should enough for a gb emulator. I have no experience with XNA at all, but if I had to guess why it's not working right, is because the zune OS is not as open as what actual windows OS is for freeware. But then take into consideration other things, like the memory. 32mb was it or something like that? That's not enough really to load the emulator into, then process the rom. Unless something becomes more open for the Zune, I don't think we'll see anything improved until the ZuneHD comes out with the tegra inside of it. Until then, the only option is to basically remake the game.
It's the compact .NET framework. It's just slow, and there's no way to run anything but managed code, C#. The memory is a bit of an issue but can be worked around with smart programming, loading and unloading from the RAM as needed. The game itself can be up to 2 GB.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Locke is offline  

Old 08-31-2009, 07:51 AM   #264
Netrix
Purger of Ignorance
Development Front
Retired Staff
Super ZunerĀ²
 
Netrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In my own world
Posts: 4,268
Netrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to Netrix
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbetts View Post
It's not emulation if you want to convert it.

The thing is though, a 500mhz cpu should enough for a gb emulator. I have no experience with XNA at all, but if I had to guess why it's not working right, is because the zune OS is not as open as what actual windows OS is for freeware. But then take into consideration other things, like the memory. 32mb was it or something like that? That's not enough really to load the emulator into, then process the rom. Unless something becomes more open for the Zune, I don't think we'll see anything improved until the ZuneHD comes out with the tegra inside of it. Until then, the only option is to basically remake the game.
The Zune firmware currently only allows XNA programs to be run on it. The only reason the Zune does not run the NES emulator at a decent speed is because XNA (on the Zune) is horribly inefficient compared to native code. The current Zune are fully capable of running a native NES emulator at sufficient speed. The current Zunes have 64 MB of RAM.




Netrix is offline  

Old 08-31-2009, 09:02 AM   #265
Locke
Is the order a rabbit?
Senior Editor
Super Moderator
Demi Zuner
 
Locke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9,840
Locke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to beholdLocke is a splendid one to behold
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netrix View Post
The Zune firmware currently only allows XNA programs to be run on it. The only reason the Zune does not run the NES emulator at a decent speed is because XNA (on the Zune) is horribly inefficient compared to native code. The current Zune are fully capable of running a native NES emulator at sufficient speed. The current Zunes have 64 MB of RAM.
They have 64 MB, but XNA only allows the use of 32 MB, correct?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Locke is offline  

Old 08-31-2009, 09:06 AM   #266
Tiptup300
Experienced Member
 
Tiptup300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 898
Tiptup300 has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locke View Post
They have 64 MB, but XNA only allows the use of 32 MB, correct?
16mb to make room for music.



Tiptup300 is offline  

Old 08-31-2009, 09:10 AM   #267
Netrix
Purger of Ignorance
Development Front
Retired Staff
Super ZunerĀ²
 
Netrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In my own world
Posts: 4,268
Netrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud ofNetrix has much to be proud of
Send a message via MSN to Netrix
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Locke View Post
They have 64 MB, but XNA only allows the use of 32 MB, correct?
16 MB, but that is irrelevant for any emulator on the Zune because XNA is not an option for a NES emulator that will run at more than 20 FPS, unless the Tegra is almost three times as fast as the Zune 30. It is also possible that the next update will allow more RAM to be used.




Netrix is offline  

Old 11-30-2009, 09:17 PM   #268
tm3255
Zewbie
 
tm3255's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: High Point NC
Posts: 2
tm3255 is on a distinguished road
Default

do you ppl think that theres any way to port psp games to Zune HD? because it would be extremly cool and i have heard rumors saying that Zune HD is some what equivalent to psp...




tm3255 is offline  

Old 12-01-2009, 01:21 AM   #269
Jordan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tm3255 View Post
do you ppl think that theres any way to port psp games to Zune HD? because it would be extremly cool and i have heard rumors saying that Zune HD is some what equivalent to psp...

No.


Thread closed to stop Grave Digs.



 

 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
no new posts